P R I D E

If you know the LGBT+ community well, you know that June is Pride Month, and it’s a very exciting time for us!  It’s a time to celebrate and be proud of the individuals that we are, and to embrace the diversity among us.  It’s also a time to be somber and work toward education and promoting of equal rights for us all.

I shared something on my personal Facebook/Instagram/Twitter page yesterday that I thought pertinent to share here; included with the post is a picture of my cross tattoo with my equality bracelet:

I sometimes wonder if people who don’t agree with LGBTQIA+ individuals see the combination of these symbols I choose to own and silently shame me.  I knew when I got the cross tattoo that it was never one I’d regret.  What I didn’t know was the love Holly and I would one day share.  I didn’t know the pain I would feel from people who support the cross but not equality.  Sure, many will say “I think you should have equal rights”, but when I mention marriage and adoption and health care, they change their minds.  Equal rights should mean complete equal rights.  I’m thankful for a job that allows me to openly be who I am, where many around the country don’t have that luxury.  I’m thankful for a family who supports me no matter what.  I’m thankful that I can be both a Christian and an LGBTQIA+ identifying human.  There doesn’t have to be a divide.  I can choose to love Jesus while also loving Holly.

Pride isn’t about rainbow flags, flamboyant dress, and big parades.  It’s about fighting for the right to be treated how every other human being who’s straight is treated when it comes to marriage, adoption, and health care.  It’s about being accepted for who we are.  It’s about pride in ourselves and the lives we leave.

Leave a comment